The Taltsy Museum of Architecture and Ethnography

The Taltsy Museum of Architecture and Ethnography
The Taltsi Museum of Architecture and Ethnography is located on 47th kilometre of Baikal Route. Construction of the museum began at the End of 1960. Damming of the Angara River threatened unique historicalbuildings, such as Spaskaya tower (1667) and the Kazan chapel (1679). These buildings were moved to a safer location.Land for the museum was allocated from the Taltsmsky area Incidentally,Taltsy Village was recently a well-knownglass factory It's now essentially flooded as a result of the Irkutsk Hydroelectric Power Station.Several country manors of 17th, 18th and 19th centuries and some water mills were brought from various areas. These monuments formed the basis of the early museum. The museum opened to the public in May 1980 In February 1995, the Boris Yeltsin declared Taltsi a historic and culture monument. People like to spend Maslenitsa (RussianOrthodox Carnival) and the Trinity holidays at Taltsi, as well was regular days off.

Maps